DBIA Announces 2015 National Design-Build Project/Team Award Winners

Subscribe to our Blog


Posted on

DBIA Announces 2015 National Design-Build Project/Team Award Winners

Nationwide winners honored for achieving exceptional project delivery outcomes through Design-Build Done Right™

The Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA), the only organization that defines, teaches and promotes best practices in design-build, today announced its 20th annual Design-Build Project/Team Award Winners. Recognized for exemplary collaboration and integration in design-build project delivery, the award-winning projects were evaluated by a distinguished panel of industry experts.

“To win a National Design-Build Project/Team Award, projects must not only achieve budget and schedule goals, but also demonstrate advanced and innovative application of design-build best practices,” said Lisa Washington, CAE, Executive Director/CEO of DBIA. “This year’s winning projects exemplify Design-Build Done Right in their design-build process, excellence in design, and extraordinary teaming performance. The jury’s difficulty in choosing winners demonstrates how much design-build expertise has expanded since we started the awards program in 1996.”

The 2015 Design-Build Project/Team Awards showcase design-build best practices and celebrate the achievements of owners and design-build teams in ten categories across the spectrum of horizontal and vertical construction. These categories include: aviation; civic/assembly buildings; commercial/office buildings; Federal, County, State, Municipal category; industrial/process/research facilities; educational facilities; healthcare facilities; rehabilitation/renovation/restoration; transportation; and water/wastewater.

The 2015 winning projects/teams are:

Aviation Category

P-822 MCAS Terminal Operations & AFRS Complex
Kaneohe, Hawaii

Civic/Assembly Category

County of San Diego Waterfront Park and Parking Structure
San Diego, California

U.S. Coast Guard Houston-Galveston Sector Building
Houston, Texas
Commercial Buildings Category

Educational Facilities Category

Maya Angelou Learning Center
Washington, D.C.

Merage School of Business, University of California Irvine
Irvine, California

University of Washington Tacoma – YMCA Student Center
Tacoma, Washington

Federal, County, State Municipal Category

Benjamin P. Grogan and Jerry L. Dove Federal Building
Miramar, Florida

John M. Roll United States Courthouse
Yuma, Arizona

Richmond City Justice Center
Richmond, Virginia

Social Security Administration National Support Center
Urbana, MD

Healthcare Facilities Category

Chandler Regional Medical Center
Chandler, Arizona

High Desert Regional Health Center
Lancaster, California

St. Jude Medical Center Northwest Tower
Fullerton, California

Industrial, Process and/or Research Facilities Category

EnwaveUSA Biomedical District Steam Plant
New Orleans, Louisiana

Michelin Red Oak
Anderson, South Carolina

United States Cold Storage Distribution Center
Covington, Tennessee

Commercial/Office Buildings Category

Nutrabolt Corporate Headquarters
Bryan, Texas

Mission Hall: Global Health & Clinical Sciences Building
San Francisco, California

Rehabilitation, Renovation and/or Restoration Category

Hall of Justice
Los Angeles, California

Old Main Renovation
Tucson, Arizona

Transportation (other than Aviation) Category

Design-Build – I-64/Route 15 (Zion Crossroads) Interchange Improvements
Charlottesville, Virginia

I-485/I-85 Turbine Interchange
Charlotte, North Carolina

Safe & Sound Design-Build – MoDOT 554
(Various sites) Missouri

Water/Wastewater Category

Lawton Valley and Station No. 1  Water Treatment Plants Design-Build
Newport, Rhode Island

McAlpine Creek WWMF Design-Build Effluent Filters Upgrades and Expansion
Charlotte, North Carolina

Oakley Station CSO 551 & 553 Separation Sewer Project
Cincinnati, Ohio

The above projects/teams are all winners of the National Awards of Merit. One project in each of the ten categories will be named as a National Award of Excellence winner in an awards ceremony during DBIA’s Design-Build Conference & Expo on November 3 in Denver, Colo. In addition, four National Awards of Excellence will be given for Design (one for architecture and one for engineering), Process and Teaming and one project will be honored as Project of the Year.

Established in 1993, the Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA) is the only organization that defines, teaches and promotes best practices in design-build project delivery. Design-build is an integrated approach that delivers design and construction services under one contract with a single point of responsibility. Owners select design-build to achieve best value while meeting schedule, cost and quality goals. Learn more about design-build and DBIA’s certification and other programs at www.dbia.org.