A Day (Or Two) In the Life of a DBIA Awards Juror

It’s that time of the year when DBIA’s distinguished panel of awards jurors meet in Washington, D.C., for two days of studying, scoring and, yes, even a bit of passionate debate as they choose the 2022 national design-build award winners.

The competition is fierce as 75 impressive projects in ten categories compete to be named the nation’s best in design-build. From the aviation to water/wastewater sectors, project teams are redefining how America builds by maximizing design-build collaboration to innovate with remarkable results. This year’s projects continue to raise the bar in defining design-build excellence. Jury chair, Barbara Jackson, says many of DBIA’s jurors consider this judging to be one of the highlights of their year, despite their busy schedules because DBIA award winners continue to shape the industry. “There’s a reason we return to do this each year. It’s because we love it. I love it. I wouldn’t miss it for the world. It’s just such a benefit and a privilege to know that the work you’re doing in this room enhances the practice of Design-Build Done Right®.”

DBIA jurors will choose the national winners of Merit Awards, Excellence (Best in Category), and “Best of” categories, including Process, Teaming, Technology, Design (Architecture and Engineering), Small Projects and more. They’ll also select this year’s 2022 National Design-Build Project of the Year. DBIA national winners are setting the pace for our industry, and their projects inspire and impress.

Merit winners will be notified this summer, and they will go on to compete for Excellence, Best of awards and Project of the Year. The full slate of DBIA national winners will be announced at the 2022 Design-Build Project & Teams Awards dinner at the Design-Build Conference & Expo in Las Vegas on November 3rd.

DBIA offers a special thank-you to our national awards jury for the many hours they invest in reviewing all the nominees.

2022 DBIA Awards Jury

Chair: Barbara J. Jackson, Ph.D., FDBIA – The University of Denver (retired)

Juan Carlos Arteaga, AIA, NCARB, CBO, CGC, TBI, BCO, LEED AP BD+C, DBIA – HNTB Corporation

James R. Avitabile, P.E., DBIA – RS&H

John W. Bale, P.E., DBIA, MBA – RS Engineers

Clay J. Benson, DBIA, LEED AP – Scrub Oak Consulting

Stella S. Fiotes, AIA, DBIADepartment of Veterans Affairs (Retired)

Richard J. Formella, DBIA, PMP – Design-Build Strategic Solutions, LLC

John A. Giachino, DBIA – PC Construction Company (Retired)

Gary Hart, P.E., DBIA – Hampton Roads Sanitation District

Ronn LanskyThe PENTA Building Group

Shailendra G. Patel, P.E., DBIA – Virginia Department of Transportation

Jim Ropelewski, JD, DBIA – Curriculum and Resource Development Advisor, DBIA

Brian Skripac, DBIA, CM-BIM,ASSOC. AIA, LEED AP BD+C – VDC Director, DBIA

Craig H. Unger, FDBIA – Unger Security Solutions LLC

William (Bill) J. Valdez, P.E., LEED Green Associate, DBIA – KMB Architects