DBIA Elects Bill Quatman, Esq., FAIA, DBIA as Board Chair

DBIA Announces 2016 Board of Directors; Bill Quatman, General Counsel for Burns & McDonnell Engineering Company will serve as DBIA’s National Chairman of the Board

November 12, 2015

Washington, D.C. – The Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA), the only organization that defines, teaches, and promotes best practices in design-build, has announced that G. William (Bill) Quatman, Esq., FAIA, DBIA, has been elected to serve as 2016 National Board Chair. Mr. Quatman serves as Senior Vice President and General Counsel for Burns & McDonnell and is a Designated Design-Build Professional™. He is also a licensed architect and attorney as well as an internationally recognized author and speaker on construction law and on design-build. Mr. Quatman is a published author and has extensive experience in the area of state and federal legislation for design-build and alternative project delivery.

“I could not be more excited about the future of DBIA and of design-build,” Quatman said. “We have come so far as an organization since 1993, from the days when almost no state had legislative authority to use design-build, to today, where nearly every state has enacted design-build legislation. From the days when people thought design-build was only for industrial warehouses and parking garages, to today, when stadiums, schools, office buildings, courthouses and museums are winning national design-build awards. Now coming off the most highly-attended design-build conference in DBIA history, I know 2016 will be a great year for DBIA.”

Additional membership elections to DBIA’s 2016 National Board of Directors leadership include: Praful Kulkarni, AIA, gkkworks, to serve as Vice Chair and H. Thomas McDuffie, Jr., AIA, RIBA, to serve as Treasurer.

In addition, six new directors will join DBIA’s Board of Directors for 2016. They include:

  • Martin R. Hedlund, P.E., CPC, LEED AP, DBIA, Senior Vice President, Sundt Construction, Inc.;
  • Bryant Farland, LEED AP, Senior Vice President, Skanska USA Building, Inc.; and
  • Steve R. Gates, P.E., AAEE, BCEE, Senior Vice President, Brown and Caldwell
  • Steve M. Grauer, DBIA, Vice President, Hensel Phelps Construction Company
  • Richard J. Formella, DBIA, CPPO, Chief, Bio-Containment Contracting Branch, Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers
  • Chris Hornbeck, Director, Construction Services, University of California – Office of the President

“Each year, the Nominations Committee seeks to ensure that those nominated to the Board inform our mission and values by multiple perspectives and expertise,” said Lisa Washington, CAE, Executive Director and CEO of DBIA. “This distinguished group of design-build professionals is committed to promoting and advancing the strategic growth of DBIA and Design-Build Done Right™.”

The 2016 DBIA National Board of Directors includes:

G. William Quatman, Esq., FAIA, DBIA
General Counsel
Burns & McDonnell Engineering Co.

Vice Chairman
Praful M. Kulkarni, AIA
President & CEO

Thomas McDuffie, Jr., AIA, RIBA
Group Vice President

Immediate Past Chair
Peter Kinsley, CGC, DBIA
President – Government & Public Services

Scott Churilla, DBIA
Vice President, Integrated Delivery Programs
HDR, Inc.

DBIA Board Secretary and Executive Director
Lisa Washington, CAE
Design-Build Institute of America


John Bale, P.E., DBIA, MBA
JWBale, Inc.

Patrick Crosby, DBIA, S.E., LEED AP
Crosby Group Engineering

William Dean, BICSI
President & CEO
M.C. Dean, Inc.

Bryant Farland, LEED AP
Senior Vice President
Skanska USA Building, Inc.

Richard J. Formella, DBIA, CPPO
Chief, Bio-Containment Contracting Branch
Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers

Steve R. Gates, P.E., AAEE, BCEE
Senior Vice President
Brown and Caldwell

Steve M. Grauer, DBIA
Vice President
Hensel Phelps Construction Company

William G. Hasbrook, Jr., DBIA, MEMS
Executive Vice President

Martin R. Hedlund, P.E., CPC, LEED AP, DBIA
Senior Vice President
Sundt Construction, Inc.

Chris Hornbeck
Director, Construction Services
University of California – Office of the President

Roger Johnson
Deputy Executive Director
Los Angeles World Airport

Robynne Parkinson, JD, DBIA
Thaxton Parkinson, PLLC

Barbara Wagner, DBIA, LEED AP
Senior Vice President
Clark Construction Group – California, LP

Jim L. Whitaker, AIA, DBIA
Principal and Senior Vice President
Director of Federal and Design-Build
HKS, Inc.

Jacob Williams
Assistant Director
Los Angeles County Department of Public Works