Design-Build Industry Leaders Inspire and Innovate

Meet DBIA’s 2022 Brunelleschi Lifetime Achievement Award Winner, Distinguished Leadership Award Winners and this year’s class of Designated Design-Build Professional Fellows™

The design-build industry has seen incredible growth and success in recent years, in no small part, because of the outstanding leaders who are blazing new trails as Owners and practitioners. DBIA is proud to honor this year’s diverse group of industry leaders.

“Each year, we’re setting new goals and reaching new heights in design-build. With recent market analysis projecting design-build to account for nearly half of all construction spending by 2025, it’s clear that design-build is changing the way America builds.  DBIA is leading the way in advancing Design-Build Done Right™, and we’re proud to recognize the industry leaders helping to drive change, innovation and collaboration.  This year’s award winners exemplify excellence and are among the best of the best in the industry.”  —Lisa Washington, CAE, DBIA Executive Director/CEO

2022 Brunelleschi Lifetime Achievement Award

DBIA’s Highest Individual Honor


Greg Gidez, FAIA, FDBIA

Director of Design Services

Hensel Phelps

Greg Gidez’s work as an industry leader, innovator and teacher truly embodies the spirit of this award. Throughout his career, he has helped the design-build industry embrace the mental shift needed to empower collaboration, moving beyond cost and schedule to look at triple-bottom-line successes in design-build project delivery. His work as Hensel Phelps’ Director of Design Services is impressive in its own right, delivering many notable design-build projects over the decades while also demonstrating the value of Design-Build Done Right® best practices time and again to clients and team members alike. Greg’s leadership at DBIA spans decades, including as a DBIA National Board Chair, Committee leader, DBIA-approved instructor who’s also created design management coursework, Mentor and Fellow.

2022 Distinguished Leadership Award Winners

DBIA is proud to present this year’s Distinguished Leadership Awards to four individuals who have demonstrated leadership in advancing effective design-build practices and promoting design-build as a project delivery method of choice.



Jeannie Natta, Assoc. DBIA

Interim Director, Project Delivery Group
University of Washington — University Facilities Building

Industry Practitioner

Daniel Rawlins, RA, DBIA

The Rawlins Group, LLC

Industry Practitioner

James Avitabile, PE, DBIA

Vice President, Transportation & Infrastructure

Young Professional

Jeffrey Goodermote, DBIA

National Director of Parking Structures


2022 Designated Design-Build Professional Fellows™

DBIA will also be inducting a new class of Designated Design-Build Professional Fellows™.  Fellow status recognizes the achievements of our most accomplished Designated Design-Build Professionals.

Brian Aske, FDBIA
Lease Crutcher Lewis

John Bale, PE, FDBIA, MBA
Vice President
CRS Engineers

Scott Churilla, FDBIA
Vice President, Owner Advisor Practice Leader
CDM Smith

Patrick Crosby, SE, LEED AP, FDBIA
Crosby Group-Engineers/Architects

Tim Graybeal, PE, FDBIA
Design-Build Manager
Lydig Construction, Inc.

Douglas Herbst, FDBIA
Collaborative Project Delivery Manager
Freese and Nichols, Inc.

Shailendra Patel, PE, FDBIA
State Alternative Project Delivery Engineer
Virginia Department of Transportation

Darlene Septelka, FDBIA
Assistant Teaching Professor
University of Washington

All these distinguished design-build leaders will be honored at the 2022 Design-Build Conference and Expo, November 2-4, in Las Vegas.