Meet DBIA’s New 2020 Board Leadership

With the new year also come new members elected to serve on DBIA’s national boards. Both our national board of directors and our certification board work to educate and advocate for Design-Build Done Right™ best practices which have made design-build the fastest growing and most popular project delivery method in the nation.

Led by Board Chairman Rick del Monte, DBIA, FAIA, LEED AP, DBIA’s 2020 national board of directors brings a depth of experience to an association inspired to shape the future, one successful collaboration at a time. Del Monte is currently the Managing Director/National Design Director at The Beck Group with decades of experience in both design and construction aspects of integrated project delivery. Mr. del Monte has been a tireless advocate in the design community for design-build and brings a unique experience to DBIA’s national board leadership.

Other officers elected for the 2020 DBIA Board include Vice Chairman Geoffrey Neumayr, SE, P.E., Chief Development Officer, San Francisco International Airport and Treasurer Steve M. Grauer, DBIA, Vice President, Hensel Phelps Construction Company. In addition, five new Directors will join DBIA’s National Board in 2020:

  • David D. Burton, DBIA, Vice President, Moss & Associates
  • Thomas Foley, P.E., CCM Deputy Commissioner, N.Y. City Department of Design & Construction
  • John A. Giachino, DBIA, Director of Business Development, PC Construction
  • Virginia A. McAllister, RA, LEED, NCARB, NCIDQ, CEO, Iron Horse Architects
  • Laura Stagner, AIA, PMP Assistant Commissioner, GSA Public Buildings Service, Office of Project Delivery (Retired)

With a record number of design-builders certified last year and more than 4,400 DBIA Certified Professionals™ nationwide, the DBIA Certification Board works to ensure a high level of professionalism throughout the design-build industry. The 2020 Certification Board Chairman is Douglas Herbst, DBIA Alternative Project Delivery Advisor, Freese and Nichols, Inc and Vice-Chairman is Gary S. Johnson, P.E., DBIA, Director of Transportation, Design-Build, Director of Structure & Bridge, Timmons Group.  The 2020 DBIA Certification Board directors are:

  • Richard Benton, PE, F.ASCE, FDBIA, SR Benton & Associates
  • David Bloxom, FDBIA, President, Speed Fab-Crete Corp.
  • David D. Burton, DBIA, Vice President, Moss & Associates
  • Jignesh Desai, P.E., DBIA, Senior Project Manager, Project Management Bureau, San Francisco Public Utilities Commission, San Francisco, California
  • Jeffrey L. Gagné, P.E., DBIA, Vice President, HNTB
  • William G. Kent, LEED AP, FDBIA Construction Executive, Mortenson Construction – National Board Liason
  • Keith R. Molenaar, Ph.D., FDBIA, Interim Dean, College of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Denise M. Ramsey, P.E., LEED AP BD+C, DBIA, Vice President, Haskell

We’re excited about what 2020 holds for design-build teams nationwide and proud to have so many of our nation’s design-build innovators leading our organization. You can see a full list of DBIA’s 2020 national leadership here.